Special Town Council Meeting Swearing In Ceremony Monday, January 2, 2012 <u>8:00 P.M.</u>

RECORD OF VOTES AND MINUTES

Prelude- Dean DellaVecchio and the Lyman Hall High School Jazz Ensemble

1. The Color Guard entered the auditorium. The Colors were Posted. – Past Commander Roy Cannon, American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post #73

Color Guards: American Legion Shaw-Sinon post #73, American Legion Siedlicki Post #187, VFW Major Raoul Lufbery #591, VFW Stanley Budleski Post #9965, AMVETS-Post #83, Wallingford Elks Lodge #1365, Knights of Columbus, Edison Division Sea Cadet Corps

- 2. The Invocation was given by the Reverend Anne Bracket, Yalesville United Methodist Church.
- 3. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Lorraine Devaney, Public Celebrations Committee

Dean DellaVecchio and the Lyman Hall High School Jazz Ensemble played the National Anthem

Mayor Dickinson called for Commander Cannon Colors to Retire.

- 4. The Swearing In of Mayor William W. Dickinson, Jr. was performed by Judge of Probate Phillip A. Wright, Jr.
- 5. Remarks by Mayor William W. Dickinson, Jr.

Mayor Dickinson made remarks about our times, including a story about twins and choice, and another about short term and long term consequences with regard to considering all relevant facts before reaching a conclusion. Finally, he said that as Mayor he will try to voice a destination.

6. All Town Councilors-Elect, with the exception of Robert Parisi, were Sworn in by Judge Wright

Vincent Cervoni Nick Economopoulos Craig C. Fishbein Thomas Laffin John LeTourneau Rosemary Rascati John J. Sullivan Jason Zandri

7. Roll Call – Mayor William W. Dickinson, Jr.

Present to Roll Call were the following: Vincent Cervoni John LeTourneau Nick Economopoulos Rosemary Rascati Craig C. Fishbein John J. Sullivan Thomas Laffin Jason Zandri Robert F. Parisi was not present at the ceremonies as he is not in the country.

8. Mayor Dickinson Presiding at Election of Town Council Chairman

AS CHAIRMAN OF THE TOWN COUNCIL. SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR RASCATI

There was a call for further nominations, and there were none.

MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILOR RASCATI TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS. SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR CERVONI

2

ROLL CALL VOTE: Cervoni –Yes Economopoulos – No Fishbein –Yes Laffin –Yes 6 – Aye; 2 - Nay Motion passed.

Letourneau -Yes Rascati -Yes Sullivan -No Zandri - Yes

9. Remarks by Town Council Chairman

None

10. Election of Town Council Vice-Chairman

MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILOR RASCATI NOMINATING VINCENT CERVONI AS VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE TOWN COUNCIL. SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR LETOURNEAU

There was a call for further nominations, and there were none.

MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILOR RASCATI TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS. SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR CERVONI VOTE: ALL AYE (8); 1-ABSENT

Motion passed.

Vice Chairman Cervoni read remarks given to him by Chairman Parisi, who was away. Among other comments, Chairman Parisi stated that they were looking forward to a productive two years and working as a single team.

11. Judge Wright Swore the following as Board of Education members, all of whom were present:

Michael Brooder Kathy Castelli John J. Cei, Jr. Christine Mansfield Joseph Marrone Roxane M. McKay Chet Miller Patrick Reynolds Michael J. Votto

12. Appointment of Town Clerk MOTION WAS MADE NOMINATING BARBARA THOMPSON AS TOWN CLERK. MADE BY: COUNCILOR LETOURNEAU SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR LAFFIN

There was a call for further nominations, and there were none.

MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILOR RASCATI TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS. SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR CERVONI

VOTE: ALL AYE (8); 1-ABSENT

Motion passed.

Judge Wright swore in Barbara Thompson as Town Clerk.

- 13. Reverend Anne Bracket, Yalesville United Methodist Church, gave the Benediction.
- 14. Prepare to Retire Colors Past Commander Roy Cannon, American Legion Post #73 The Colors were retired following the National Anthem at the beginning of the ceremonies.

3

15. James Dunn, Junior Vice-Commander, American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post #73, sang and led those present in *God Bless America*.

MOTION WAS MADE BY COUNCILOR RASCATI TO ADJOURN THE CERMONIES. SECONDED BY: COUNCILOR LETOURNEAU VOTE: ALL AYE (8); 1-ABSENT

The evening adjourned 8:27 P.M., and everyone joined in at the refreshments provided in the hallway.

Respectfully submitted,

Sandra Weekes Town Council Secretary Meeting digitally recorded

Robert F. Parisi, Chairman

Date

Barbara Thompson, Town Clerk

Date